Eagle Bend Ladies Golf Association Minutes of the September 8, 2015 General Meeting and Awards Social

Kathy Simmons, President, convened the meeting at 4:30 pm. On behalf of the membership, Kathy thanked Dan Schull for his season-long support for EBLGA and presented him with a gift from the members. Kathy then welcomed all new members who joined EBLGA in 2015.

General Business

Minutes – The minutes of the August 18, 2015 General Meeting were approved.

Treasurer's Report – Linda Johnson, Treasurer, reported that we are on track to have approximately \$600-700 remaining in treasury at the end of the 2015 season, to carry over into 2016. A copy of the final budget and expenditures for 2015 will be posted in the Ladies Locker Room after the final bills are paid.

Directories – Connie Kalberg, Directory Chair, distributed extra copies of the 2015 directory. In 2016, EBLGA will be offering additional advertising space the directory. Full page ads on the back cover and center pages will cost \$100 (\$110 with color), the inside back cover will cost \$75, and half page ads will cost \$40. Advertising copy should be sent to Connie by March 15th.

Standing Rules – The Board adopted four changes to the EBLGA Standing Rules:

- the time period for calculating Overall Most Improved Golfer will be May 1 to August 31st;
- the title of the chair membership committee was changed to "New Member Chair";
- the title of the 6th Hole Garden Project Chair was changed to "Garden Projects Chair";
- the "10 stroke rule" for play days was amended to "A participant will take a maximum of 10 strokes on any hole and still be able to participate in the **net** event on play day only. (This does not apply to tournaments) "

Member Survey Results – Kathy expressed appreciation to the 30 members who responded to the survey and shared the following results and actions that will be taken based on the feedback received:

- **Play day formats** about the same number of respondents like ABCD and AABB/CCDD games and team games. In 2016, on Tuesday play days, the formats will be evenly split between having people of different handicaps play together and grouping people with similar handicaps together. On most days, there will be a team game that also allows players to post their individual scores and participate in the Ringer game.
- **Tournaments** most respondents like the number of tournaments, but were not enthusiastic about Match play. In 2016, the EBLGA Championship will be a two-day stroke tournament played on consecutive days. The Member-Member Tournament will also be played on two consecutive days.

- **Social events** everyone liked the number of social events and several people offered suggestions for improvements that will be addressed by the Board next year.
- Swing Fore a Sister most respondents applauded the strong success of the Swing Fore a Sister Tournament. There were also a number of comments suggesting other charities that could be supported by EBLGA and others expressed concerns about the level of effort required to run the tournament annually. For 2016, the Board decided to scale back the tournament to a charity play day with EBLGA members having the opportunity to make a donation to Save a Sister. The 2016 Swing/Charity Event Committee will also develop options and recommendations for future years.
- **Sunshine Award** a number of respondents made suggestions about this award. In 2016, a committee will be appointed to develop clearer criteria to be used for the Sunshine Award in the future.

2015 Awards

Ringer Awards – Olivia Garvey, Ringer Chair, presented the 2015 Ringer awards. Sixty-one individuals participated in the year-long contest. The \$305 pool was divided between the Eagle/Bear and Osprey. There were three flights in each category. Cash prizes were awarded for First Gross, Second Gross, Third Gross, First Net, Second Net, and Third Net on the Eagle/Bear course. First Gross and First Net prizes were awarded in each of the three flights for the Osprey course.

Golf Milestones – Kathy Simmons presented the Most Improved Golfer of the Year for 2015 Award to Madeline Clegg, who was also the Most Improved Golfer for the month of August. Madeline Clegg, Tournament Chair, presented a "Break 100" pin to Barbara Ramsey.

2015 Tournaments – Madeline Clegg recognized the tournament winners in 2015:

- Member-Member Tournament Laurie Averill and Janet Cutshall
- Chautauqua Peggy Jacobs and guest Kathy Friday
- EBLGA President's Cup Karen Wilmouth, Gross Champion; Lisa Schaller, Net Champion; and Jan Wagner, Senior Champion
- Eagle Bend Club Championship Jan Wagner, Net Champion

Sunshine Award – Jayne McManus, Vice-President, presented the 2015 Sunshine Award to Kathie Chesnos for her outstanding service to the community and EBLGA.

Presidential Appreciation

Kathy Simmons expressed great appreciation to the following individuals:

- Joyce Mitchell for setting up and continuing to sponsor the EBLGA website
- Janet Cutshall for serving as the official photographer of the member photos
- **2015 Standing Committee Chairs** Connie Kalberg, Directory; Teresa Holm, New Members; Judy Meseroll, Niners; Nina Anderson and Priscilla Life, Publicity/Historian;

Olivia Garvey, Ringers; Carol Chase, Rules; Jan Gordon and Teresa Holm, Swing Fore a Sister; and Robin Grant, Garden Projects.

• **2015 Board Members** – Madeline Clegg, Tournament Chair; Linda Johnson, Treasurer/Website; Martha Katz, Secretary/Communications; Barbara Ramsey, Past-President/Member-Member Chair; and Jayne McManus, Vice-President/Sunshine Award Chair.

2016 Election of Officers

In accordance with the Bylaws, with no other nominations offered by the membership, the Slate of Officers presented by the Nominating Committee was elected by acclamation:

Jayne McManus – President Jan Wagner – Vice-President Janet Cutshall – Secretary Linda Johnson – Treasurer Madeline Clegg – Tournament Chair Kathy Simmons – Past-President

Jayne McManus expressed appreciation to Kathy Simmons for her outstanding leadership and service as President, and gave her a gift on behalf of the members.

Standing Committee Chairs

Jayne McManus announced the Standing Committee Chairs for 2016:

Directory – Connie Kalberg New Members – Teresa Holm Niners – Judy Meseroll Publicity/Historian – Nina Anderson and Priscilla Life Ringer – Bert Herndon Rules – Carol Chase Sunshine Award – Jan Wagner Swing/Charity Event – Pam Mitchell and Martha Katz Website – Linda Johnson Gardens – Robin Grant

The meeting adjourned at 5:15 pm.

Submitted by Martha Katz, Secretary September 10, 2015